Why I Give

Gateway Foundation donors give because of the impact their support has in the lives of Gateway students, their families and the community. See and hear in their own words why these individuals and companies support Gateway’s students through the Foundation on the Impact of Giving page.

Stanley Manning

“It is humbling and gratifying to assist so many students committed to acquiring new skills by providing financial assistance toward the achievement of their objectives,” says Stan Manning, who served as Gateway Technical College Foundation Board Chair from 2013-2016.

Frederick & Debby Ganaway

“It’s just very rewarding to come here and give out these scholarships,” says Frederick Ganaway, a scholarship donor alongside his wife Debby. “People are so appreciative.” Frederick also served as Gateway Technical College Foundation Board Chair.

James Angelici

“Once I got involved with Gateway, I just kept on going,” says James Angelici, a scholarship donor who has served on both Gateway District Board of Trustees and Gateway Foundation boards. “The students that are here that need those grants and scholarships are very much inspired by them. … I feel very satisfied, very happy. It makes me pleased to know that I have taken part in that.” 

Otto & Beverly Tarnowski

“Otto strongly believed in young people obtaining an education and was very proud to help in any way he could,” says Beverly Tarnowski of her late husband, Otto. “That is what we wanted, for the funding to help these young people obtain an education. We felt it was important to help students in their training—and that is exactly what is happening at the center.” The Tarnowskis have been lifetime supporters of career and technical education, and their generous support have made Tarnowski Hall at the SC Johnson iMET Center possible.

Alice Morava

“This endowed scholarship will provide Gateway students living in Walworth County the opportunity to pursue a gratifying career,” says scholarship donor Alice Morava, who served for many years on the Gateway District Board of Trustees.